Drinks for the Cold Weather (Part 2)

pc8

I told you my readers that there would be a part two to this “Drinks for the Cold Weather”, so get ready, because this one is a good one.

pc14

Now, as I was saying in my last post, I ended up going for a cold drink. I know that might sound a little bit silly, since it’s already cold outside, but that’s how I roll. If it’s December, you will most likely see me licking an ice-cream cone outside and sitting on a bench (Yes, I have done this before and I don’t regret it.)

tumblr_m96raqJ7Py1qazx4ao2_r2_250

Anyway, I thought it would be nice to add a little bubbly to the drink. I opted for Barefoot’s Pinot Grigio Bubbly. I was very happy by the results and was pretty upset when I realized I didn’t make enough for another glass.

pc11

So for my readers, I doubled this recipe. You can enjoy it by yourself or share. I think it would be wonderful to have it for a dinner party. I’m sure it would be a hit! So, please enjoy this recipe and let me know what you think. Happy drinking!

pc7

Pear Bubbly Drink

Serves 4

10-12 Anjou pears peeled and chopped

4-6 cups of water

4 tbsp. of sugar

1 tsp of nutmeg

1 bottle of Champagne (Barefoot pinot grigio bubbly)

pcc

Directions:

  1. Bring all ingredients (except for the bubbly) to a boil in a medium sauce pan.
  2. Once it comes to a boil, set on low heat, covered, for 30-35 minutes
  3. Strain mixture into colander on top of a medium size bowl and put the liquid mixture into a jar and leave in fridge for four hours or overnight.
  4. With the pear remains blend with 1/3 cup of water and blend until the mixture is creamy.
  5. Put creamy pear mixture into an ice-cube tray and leave overnight.
  6. Next day- Add pear juice, and pear cubes (smashed with a mortar and pestle or leave in ice-cube shape) Then add in 1/3-1/2 cup of pinot grigio champagne and enjoy!!!

pc4

pc1

pc10

Leave a comment